Governor Ivey Awards Nearly $19.3 Million to Improve Alabama Communities

Governor Ivey Awards Nearly $19.3 Million to Improve Alabama Communities

MONTGOMERY – Governor Kay Ivey on Thursday announced she has awarded nearly $19.3 million to provide improvements in 49 Alabama towns, cities and counties.

The Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) will enable local governments to pave or resurface roads, eliminate blight and drainage problems, improve water or sewer service and build or improve local community centers and playgrounds.

“Community Development Block Grants help communities address major needs whether it be supplying clean drinking water or eliminating dilapidated and unsafe structures,” said Governor Ivey. “I congratulate the cities and counties who received grants in this keenly competitive process, and I wish them the best in improving their communities.”

The CDBG program in Alabama is awarded annually on a competitive basis in several categories: small city (population 2,999 or less), large city (population 3,000 or more), county and community enhancement. Planning grants are also awarded to help local governments examine needs and provide a vision for the future.

The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs is administering the grants from funds made available by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

“ADECA is pleased to be a part of a program that is so beneficial to cities and counties across our state,” said ADECA Director Kenneth Boswell. “I commend community leaders and planners for their efforts to improve the lives of their residents and make their communities better places to live.

Grants awarded and projects (grouped by geographical region) are:

North Alabama

Belk – $400,000 to replace a major water line.

Berry – $400,000 for sewer line replacement and related improvements.

Cherokee – $362,422 for drainage and ditch improvements.

Colony – $399,827 for street improvements.

Courtland – $400,000 for water line upgrades and improvements.

Garden City – $389,800 to upgrade the town’s sewer system.

Guinn – $304,000 for street resurfacing and drainage improvements.

Hodges – $329,000 for downtown revitalization, including razing dilapidated buildings.

Jacksonville – $500,000 to replace sewer lines.

Lexington – $397,907 for water and fire suppression improvements.

Oxford – $500,000 for drainage improvements and demolition of dilapidated structures.

Pell City – $500,000 for water system improvements.

Rainsville – $500,000 to repair and replace sewer lines.

Ranburne – $400,000 to renovate the town’s senior citizen center.

Scottsboro – $400,000 to demolish and clear 26 dilapidated structures.

Steele – $400,000 to replace a main water line.

Valley Head – $400,000 for street and drainage improvements.

Winfield – $342,000 to demolish 18 dilapidated and abandoned/vacant structures.

Central Alabama

Brent – $500,000 for sewer line rehabilitation.

Coosa County – $135,801 to resurface American Legion Road near Goodwater and Coosa County Road 38 in the Mt. Olive Community.

Coosada – $350,000 to demolish 30 dilapidated vacant or abandoned structures throughout the town.

Crenshaw County – $500,000 to resurface and relocate water lines on Starhope Church Road.

Forkland – $400,000 to upgrade the town’s park including constructing a pavilion and concession stand/bathroom facility.

Hale County – $500,000 for water system rehabilitation along Hale County Road 64

Luverne – $400,000 for sewer line improvements and street paving.

Mosses – $400,000 for the resurfacing of Main Street.

Notasulga– $32,000 to develop a comprehensive city plan.

Randolph County – $500,000 to resurface and improve drainage along Randolph County roads 30 and 17 in the Rock Mills Community.

Roanoke – $500,000 to rehabilitate and resurface five streets.

South Alabama

Ashford – $234,000 to make improvements on four streets.

Barbour County – $400,000 to construct a new senior citizen center in Clio.

Butler – $222,750 for a sewer line replacement.

Castleberry – $400,000 to rehabilitate the town’s water system and several streets, including adding fire hydrants.

Clayhatchee – $202,366 to provide lighting for a baseball field and to build a pole barn at the recreation park.

Coffeeville– $400,000 for roof replacement at the town’s community center.

Elba – $500,000 for street resurfacing and drainage improvements.

Florala– $375,655 to renovate the former Florala Middle School gymnasium.

Florala – $32,000 to develop a comprehensive city plan.

Geneva– $500,000 for housing rehabilitation as part of its neighborhood revitalization program.

Geneva County – $474,667 to resurface several streets in the Bellwood community.

Gordon – $400,000 for sewer line rehabilitation.

Jackson – $500,000 for drainage improvements.

Louisville – $400,000 for housing rehabilitation and demolition and clearance.

Madrid – $229,200 to resurface and make improvements on two city streets.

Monroe County – $500,000 to rehabilitate a portion of the Excel Water System serving the unincorporated Hillside Community.

New Brockton – $392,900 for housing rehabilitation.

Opp – $400,000 to resurface several streets.

Pinkard – $342,177 to resurface and make improvements on several city streets.

Washington County – $500,000 to resurface Mitchell Road east of Millry.

Vredenburgh – $337,125 to make improvements at the town’s community park including construction of a pavilion.

ADECA administers an array of programs supporting law enforcement and traffic safety, economic development, energy conservation, water resource management and recreation development.