Governor Ivey Makes Statement Following President Trump’s Approval of Major Disaster Declaration

MONTGOMERY – President Donald J. Trump on Wednesday granted a Major Disaster Declaration for the state of Alabama triggering the release of federal funds to help communities recover from the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding that occurred February 19 to March 20, 2019.
PA-Designated Counties include:

  • Cherokee
  • Colbert
  • DeKalb
  • Franklin
  • Jackson
  • Lamar
  • Madison
  • Marion
  • Morgan
  • Winston

Upon the news, Governor Ivey released the following statement:
“The state of Alabama is far too familiar with the often unpredictable, damaging effects of severe weather. In recent months, our state has endured a variety of storm systems, including immense and historic flooding in North Alabama. Alabama is very grateful and pleased to welcome this news. President Trump always stands ready to help Alabama, and I’m grateful for his hand in this recovery process. We can now fully be on the road to recovery because of the assistance of President Trump.”