

May 14, 2018

The Honorable Berit Reiss-Andersen Chair The Norwegian Nobel Committee NO-0255 Oslo, Norway

Dear Chair Reiss-Andersen and Members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee:

We, the undersigned governors of the United States of America, support the nomination of President Donald J. Trump, by members of the United States Congress, to receive the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize for his transformative efforts to bring peace to the Korean peninsula after more than 60 years of conflict and division.

Though he has only been in office one year, President Trump has achieved an unprecedented victory for global peace and security. The President's firm stance against nuclearization, coupled with his willingness to engage one-on-one with Pyongyang, has succeeded in opening new avenues of cooperation, friendship and unity between the two Koreas – and the rest of the world.

The President's strategy in reaching this historical moment included renewed cooperation with China to impose multilateral sanctions against North Korea, placing new pressure on the Kim regime. At the same time, diplomatic overtures have worked to complement this effort, resulting in a succession of gains in recent weeks.

On April 18, President Trump revealed that CIA Director Mike Pompeo met with Kim in North Korea ahead of an anticipated meeting between our two nations. Just three days later, on April 21, North Korea announced the suspension of its nuclear testing program. On April 27, Kim met with South Korean President Moon Jae-in a landmark summit, making headlines around the world. And, on May 9, Pompeo traveled again to Pyongyang, returning with three American hostages.

After nearly two decades of gridlock and global anxiety surrounding North Korea's nuclear program, we are now, at last, on the precipice of peace. There is but one new variable: President Donald J. Trump and his successful policy of security through strength. There is no one more deserving of the Nobel Peace Prize.

The Honorable Berit Reiss-Andersen May 14, 2018 Page Two

Sincerely,

al Imm,

HENRY MCMASTER, GOVERNOR OF SOUTH CAROLINA

 \checkmark ay /ver

Kay Ivey, Governor of Alabama

Eddie Baza Calvo, Governor of Guam

DR. JEFF COLYER, GOVERNOR OF KANSAS

Phil Bryant, Governor of Mississippi

Powe R. Le age

Paul R. LePage, Governor of Maine

Jim Justice, Governor of West Virginia