

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

October 20, 2020

The Honorable Kay Ivey Governor State of Alabama Montgomery, Alabama 36130

Dear Governor Ivey:

On September 25, 2020, the Alabama State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency (FSA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), requested a primary county disaster designation for Baldwin, Coffee, Covington, Escambia, Mobile, and Monroe Counties in Alabama due to losses caused by excessive wind, flash flooding, and excessive rainfall caused by Hurricane Sally that occurred from September 15 through September 16, 2020.

USDA reviewed the loss assessment reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation; therefore, I am designating Baldwin and Mobile Counties as primary natural disaster areas. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster. At this time, USDA is unable to make a complete and accurate determination of production losses for Coffee, Covington, Escambia, and Monroe Counties; therefore, a decision to designate those counties as primary disaster areas will be deferred.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

myfludue

Sonny Perdue Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for Alabama and Contiguous States

Primary Counties:			
Alabama	(2)		
Baldwin	Mobile		
Contiguous Counties:			
Alabama	(4)		
Clarke	Escambia	Monroe	Washington

In addition, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster areas. Those states, counties, and numbers are:

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Florida Escambia	(1)	
Mississippi George	(3) Greene	Jackson