

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

NOV 1 5 2018

The Honorable Kay Ivey Governor State of Alabama Montgomery, Alabama 36130

Dear Governor Ivey:

Thank you for your letter of October 15, 2018, requesting a primary county disaster designation for several counties in Alabama, due to damage and losses caused by significant rainfall, wind, and flooding as a result of Hurricane Michael that occurred during the 2018 Crop Year.

On October 30, 2018, the Alabama State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency (FSA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), requested a primary county disaster designation for five Alabama counties due to losses caused by excessive wind and rain due to Hurricane Michael that occurred from October 10 through October 11, 2018.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation; therefore, I am designating all five counties as primary natural disaster areas. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Sonny Perdue

Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for Alabama and Contiguous States

Primary Counties:

Alabama Barbour (5) Geneva

Houston

Pike

Contiguous Counties:

Alabama(7)BullockCovidCoffeeCreat

Covington Crenshaw

Russell

In addition, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster areas. Those states, counties, and numbers are:

Montgomery

Henry

Dale

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Florida Holmes	(3) Jackson	Walton		
Georgia Clay	(5) Early	Quitman	Seminole	Stewart